The Military College of South Carolina
give online buttongive online button apply now buttonapply now button

About AFROTC Det 765


319A0E37 E52C 418E AD1E E047C9E8B8F0

AFROTC Det 765 Cadre for the 2020-2021 academic year.


Our Mission

Develop leaders of character for tomorrow's Air Force and Space Force.

Our Vision

Cultivate a culture and environment of continuous learning, enthusiasm, pride, and tradition.

A Brief History

September 18, 1947 was a historic day as the United States Air Force became it's own military service. At the Citadel in 1947, 1st Lieutenant Milton M. Reid was the only Airman assigned to the Military Science and Tactics Department, and was responsible for the "Air Corps" branch of the department. In 1948, Major Louis E. Williams, Citadel Class of 1927, joined the "Air Corps" branch. Finally in 1951 the Air Science and Tactics Department was formed, led by Lt Colonel D. B Orr with a staff of five officers and four enlisted personnel.

Air Force ROTC Detachment 765 continues to build on the legacy established by Lt Reid and Maj Williams. The detachment now has a staff of 13 active duty personnel and instructs over 600 students. The young men and women here today are the future of the United States Air Force and Space Force and it is our privilege to help educate and mentor them as they begin their military careers.



Air Force ROTC Detachment 765, The Citadel, Charleston, SC

(843) 953-5005 • 


Please read our Privacy and Security Notice | FOIA

Back to Top